Breathalyzer Refusal/DMV Hearings

North Carolina is an implied consent state, which means that by driving in North Carolina, you have given your consent to chemical tests of your breath and blood. Many people refuse to take Breathalyzer tests in order to limit the evidence against them in the DWI/DUI case. However, chemical test refusal can result in a driver's license suspension.

Before the police can ask you to submit to chemical tests, they must have probable cause to stop you. They must also inform you of your right to contact an attorney before taking the test(s). If your rights were violated, we may be able to get the charges dismissed. Speak with attorneys Greg Plumides and John Cacheris today about your arrest to learn more about your rights. They have over 16 years of experience. In addition, Mr. Plumides has taught DWI law to other attorneys through a Continuing Legal Education course, giving him a thorough understanding of DWI law.

John Cacheris is a permanent member of the 4th Circuit judicial conference, as well as the North Carolina Advocates for Justice. He has received numerous awards and honors for his work including the a 10 Best Client Satisfaction Award from the American Institute of Criminal Law.

Plumides, Romano, Johnson & Cacheris, PC, has been helping people fight DWI-related offenses for more than 50 years. We defend people in North Carolina against DWI/DUI charges and chemical test refusal license suspensions. If you or a family member has refused a chemical test, it is important to speak with a lawyer as soon as possible. You could lose your driver's license for a year. We can represent you at the implied consent hearing. Call for a Consultation with a Charlotte Breathalyzer refusal attorney, please call 704-323-7833 or 877-851-1934. After hours, you can call Mr. Plumides at 704-323-7833.

Did You Refuse Breath Or Blood Tests At The Police Station?

You have the right to refuse to take roadside field sobriety tests and the portable breath test (PBT). However, you may still be arrested. If you are arrested and taken to the police station, you will be asked to take blood and/or breath tests. If you refuse these tests, you can commit an implied consent violation.

Refusal will result in the immediate loss of your driver's license for at least 30 days and a possible additional minimum 12-month revocation by the DMV. You may request a hearing. In some cases, you may be eligible for limited driving privileges after six months. Working with a lawyer is the best way to ensure you understand your rights and options after a chemical test refusal.

Contact A Charlotte Breath Test Refusal Attorney

To schedule for consultation, please call 704-323-7833, 877-851-1934 or contact us online.