DWI/DUI License Suspension

When a driver's license is suspended for driving while impaired ( DWI/DUI), it is best to have a defense lawyer represent you at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) license revocation hearing.

Plumides, Romano, Johnson & Cacheris, PC, has been helping people with North Carolina DWI/DUI cases for more than 50 years. Attorney Greg Plumides can assist you with the administrative license portion of the case as well as the criminal charge. He has over 16 years of experience in the local courts and knows how to work with prosecutors and the DMV. In addition, he has taught DWI law to other attorneys through a Continuing Legal Education course.

Mr. Plumides is joined by criminal defense attorney John Cacheris, who serves as a permanent member of the 4th Circuit judicial conference, as well as the North Carolina Advocates for Justice. His high-quality work has led to him receiving numerous awards and accolades, including the American Institute of Criminal Law's 10 Best Client Satisfaction Award.

According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation and DMV, DWI license suspensions are as follows:

  • First conviction: Mandatory revocation of your driver license for a period of one year.
  • Second conviction: Mandatory driver license revocation for a period of four years when convicted of a prior offense, which occurred within three years of the current offense for which the license is being revoked.
  • Third conviction: Mandatory, permanent driver license revocation if at least one of the prior convictions occurred within the past five years.
  • Fourth conviction: Mandatory permanent driver license revocation. The fourth conviction is considered a felony if the three prior DWI convictions occurred within the past seven years.

Do not take chances with your license. Call for a Consultation with a Charlotte DWI license suspension attorney, please call 704-323-7833 or 877-851-1934. After hours, you can call Mr. Plumides at 704-323-7833.

We Can Fight For Your License

We can argue for reduced penalties as well as limited driving privileges. Limited driving privileges allow you to drive in a restricted geographic area between specified hours, usually 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. We can often request expanded hours and days if needed. You may drive for work, school, doctor's appointments, household errands and court-related matters. You may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle as well.

If you are convicted of a subsequent DWI/DUI offense within seven years, limited driving privileges are not available. Do not drive on a suspended license. The penalties are severe and can include up to four months in jail and a permanently revoked license.

Contact A Limited Driving Privileges Attorney

To schedule for consultation, please call 704-323-7833, 877-851-1934 or contact us online.