Repeat DWI/DUI Offenses

Were you or a loved one charged with driving while impaired ( DWI/DUI) in North Carolina? DWI/DUI is a serious matter, especially if it is not your first offense. It is best to let an experienced criminal defense lawyer review your case for weak points that may allow mitigation of the charges and/or penalties.

Plumides, Romano, Johnson & Cacheris, PC has provided DWI/DUI representation for more than 50 years. We represent habitual offenders and people charged with other repeat DWI/DUI offenses in North Carolina. Attorneys Greg Plumides and John Cacheris will aggressively protect your rights in all DWI/DUI cases and driver's license suspensions/revocations. When it is in their best interests, they fight for clients at trial.

Mr. Plumides has extensive knowledge of North Carolina DWI/DUI law. In addition to his 16-plus years of defense experience, he has taught DWI law to other attorneys through a Continuing Legal Education course.

Mr. Cacheris is a well-respected member of the 4th Circuit judicial conference and the North Carolina Advocates for Justice. He has been recognized for his work with awards like the American Institute of Criminal Law's 10 Best Client Satisfaction Award.

To schedule for consultation with a repeat DWI/DUI attorney, please call 704-323-7833, 877-851-1934 or contact us online. After hours, you can call Mr. Plumides at 704-323-7833.

You Could Be Charged With A Felony

The penalties for DWI/DUI convictions can increase with each subsequent offense:

  • Level V - Punishable by a fine up to $200 and a minimum jail sentence of 24 hours and a maximum of 60 days. A judge can suspend the sentence but upon completion that the driver spend 24 hours in jail, perform 24 hours of community service or not operate a vehicle for 30 days.
  • Level IV - Punishable by a fine up to $500 and a minimum jail sentence of 48 hours and a maximum of 120 days. A judge can suspend the sentence but upon completion that the driver spend 48 hours in jail, perform 48 hours of community service or not operate a vehicle for 60 days.
  • Level III - Punishable by a fine up to $1,000 and a minimum jail sentence of 72 hours and a maximum of six months. A judge can suspend the sentence only upon completion that the driver spend at least 72 hours in jail, perform 72 hours of community service or not operate a vehicle for 90 days.
  • Level II - Punishable by a fine up to $2,000 and a minimum jail sentence of seven days and a maximum of one year. A judge CANNOT suspend the minimum sentence.
  • Level I - Punishable by a fine up to $4,000 and a minimum jail sentence of 30 days and a maximum of two years. A judge CANNOT suspend the minimum sentence.
  • Level I and II - Drivers are repeat offenders, persons whose license are revoked, impaired drivers, impaired drivers who are transporting young children and impaired drivers who hurt someone in a crash. Impaired drivers must complete a substance abuse assessment and comply with any recommended treatment as a condition for having their driver's license restored at the end of the revocation period.
  • Felony DWI - For Habitual DWI offenders, drivers who have had three prior DWI convictions within the past seven years, DWI becomes a more severe felony. But more importantly, the Habitual DWI statute now mandates a minimum active jail term of one year - a sentence that CANNOT be suspended. Offenders must also go through a substance abuse program while in jail or as a condition of parole.

- From the North Carolina Department of Public Safety website

Contact A Charlotte Lawyer For Multiple DWI Offenses

Call for a Consultation, please call 704-323-7833 or 877-851-1934.