Driving With A Suspended Or Revoked License

Losing your driver's license is a serious matter. If you are pulled over while driving with a suspended or revoked license (DWLR), the consequences are far worse. DWLR can be a class 1 misdemeanor, depending on your record. It can include penalties of up to 120 days in jail and an additional license suspension.

If you have been charged with DWLR, speak with experienced, aggressive criminal defense lawyers Greg Plumides and John Cacheris. They have the knowledge and skill to protect your driving privileges and your criminal record. With more than 16 years of experience defending people in North Carolina, Mr. Plumides understands how to fight DWLR charges in the local courts. John Cacheris is a permanent member of the 4th Circuit judicial conference, as well as the North Carolina Advocates for Justice. He has received numerous awards and honors for his work including the a 10 Best Client Satisfaction Award from the American Institute of Criminal Law. You can rely on Plumides, Romano, Johnson & Cacheris, PC, and its legacy of serving the community for more than 50 years.

Call for a consultation.

We Will Help You Contest The Suspension

One of the first steps in DWLR defense is to take care of the underlying reason for the suspension. In North Carolina, a license can be suspended or revoked for criminal offenses and traffic violations, including:

  • DWI/DUI
  • Breathalyzer refusal
  • Reckless driving
  • Twelve points on your license within a three-year period
  • Two convictions within 12 months for speeding over 55 mph
  • Failure to appear for a court date
  • Failure to pay a ticket or fines

In addition, you can lose your license for administrative reasons such as an auto insurance lapse or failure to pay child support.

The length of the suspension depends on the reason for the suspension. The following are a few examples. Please see the North Carolina DMV points and suspension charts for more information.

  • Accumulating as many as 12 points within a three-year period may cause your license to be suspended for 60 days
  • Accumulating eight points within the following three years will result in a suspension of six months
  • Suspensions for DWI/DUI or Breathalyzer refusal may be up to a year or longer
  • Suspensions of up to a year for speeding in excess of 75 mph
  • Suspensions of up to 60 days for two tickets for speeding in excess of 55 mph and more than 15 mph above the limit

DMV License Revocation Hearings

Mr. Plumides represents clients at DMV license revocation hearings to argue for the restoration of their license. In some cases, people are eligible for limited driving privileges, which will allow them to drive in a restricted geographic area between specified hours.

However, permanent revocations and second and third DWI convictions may require hearings to reinstate the license. If your driver's license was revoked, you may have the right to a hearing in the judicial district where you live. You can apply for a hearing after the specified period of time has passed, i.e., three years. At the hearing, Mr. Plumides will present your case for the restoration of your driving privileges.

Contact Us To Discuss Restoring A Revoked Driver's License

To schedule for consultation, please call us in Charlotte at , or contact us online.