${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Call for a consultation: 877-851-1934 | 704-323-7833

Drunk Driving Charges Archives

Alcohol education and treatment programs following a DWI

In general, a North Carolina resident who is convicted of a DWI is required to get a substance use assessment and successfully complete a substance abuse education program or a treatment program. However, there are different types and levels of education programs and treatment programs available, though the program a defendant may be required to complete depends on a variety of factors.

Study says ignition interlock devices save lives

Charlotte-area drivers who are convicted of drunk driving only have a mandatory requirement to put an ignition interlock device on their vehicle if they have a blood alcohol content at or above 0.15. However, according to a study that appeared in the "American Journal of Preventive Medicine", in states that have mandatory ignition interlock device laws for people with drunk driving convictions at lower blood alcohol levels, lives are saved.

What you need to know about DWI in North Carolina

North Carolina changed its drunk driving laws in 1983, passing the Safe Roads Act that unified all of our drunk driving laws and set new standards. One of the changes with this new law is that drunk driving charges are referred to as driving while intoxicated (DWI). There are four different blood alcohol concentration limits in place, depending on the individual accused of drunk driving.

Vehicle seizure following DWI on revoked driver's license

Law enforcement officers in North Carolina seize the vehicles of drivers who are charged with DWI when they are driving with a revoked driver's license for prior impaired driving charges. Those who find themselves in this position may wonder what is happening to their vehicles and how they will be able to get them back.

North Carolina man refuses breath test at drunk driving arrest

A 52-year-old man from Charlotte, North Carolina, refused a breath test as well as a blood or urine test when he was arrested for allegedly driving drunk on St. Patrick's Day. Rock Hill police confronted him after he crashed his girlfriend's 2005 Volvo into a metal post protecting a gas pump at a Rock Hill gas station.

Driver in North Carolina crash has prior DWI record

A major car accident on Feb. 16 in Wilmington has resulted in various charges against the 32-year-old driver believed to be responsible. Charges include driving while intoxicated as well as drug charges. The man has been booked into an area jail and is being held on a bond of $325,000.

Driver in fatal North Carolina crash faces DWI, related charges

A man who allegedly left the scene of an accident after the vehicle he was driving collided with a moped on Dec. 19 has now been charged in connection with the incident, according to Charlotte-Mecklenburg police. News sources report that a 22-year-old female passenger was killed when she was thrown from the moped and that the 19-year-old man who was driving it was seriously injured. Although preliminary reports do not indicate whether alcohol or drugs were factors in the crash, sources now say that the hit-and-run driver is facing charges of DWI and felony death by vehicle.

North Carolina high school coach suspended after DWI charge

A North Carolina high school football coach was taken into custody on Nov. 12 on suspicion of driving under the influence. Police claim that the man had a blood alcohol level that was more than double the North Carolina .08 percent legal limit at the time of the incident, and the 43-year-old coach was charged with misdemeanor DWI.

DWI penalties in North Carolina

The penalties for drunk driving in North Carolina can be severe, and even first-time offenders may be sentenced to jail time. North Carolina has seized the vehicles of over 8,000 motorists convicted of DWI since harsher sanctions were introduced in 1998. A driver is considered intoxicated in the state when they have a blood alcohol level of .08 percent or higher, but this limit drops to .04 percent for those with a commercial driver's license.

North Carolina teen charged in connection with hit-and-run

A North Carolina man was taken into police custody early on Sept. 17 after a single-vehicle accident that occurred in a residential area. Police reported that a car crashed into a fence then struck an outbuilding and a house, all of which were on the same piece of property. Local police arrived at the scene of the car accident at approximately 12:54 a.m., but the vehicle's driver was not there.

Contact Our Law Firm Today

You deserve to have a skilled legal advocate on your side who will protect your best interests. We will do just that. To schedule a consultation, please call our office in Charlotte at 704-323-7833 or 877-851-1934, or contact us online.

Plumides, Romano, Johnson & Cacheris, PC
301 South McDowell Street, Suite 130
Charlotte, NC 28204

Toll Free: 877-851-1934
Phone: 704-323-7833
Fax: 704-358-0536
Charlotte Law Office Map

Schedule A Consultation With An Experienced Attorney Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy