${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}

DWI penalties in North Carolina

The penalties for drunk driving in North Carolina can be severe, and even first-time offenders may be sentenced to jail time. North Carolina has seized the vehicles of over 8,000 motorists convicted of DWI since harsher sanctions were introduced in 1998. A driver is considered intoxicated in the state when they have a blood alcohol level of .08 percent or higher, but this limit drops to .04 percent for those with a commercial driver's license.

Drunk driving charges in North Carolina are usually misdemeanors, but repeat offenders may face a felony count. A habitual DWI law also mandates a sentence of a minimum of one year in jail, which cannot be suspended. Fines for misdemeanor DWI range from $200 to $4,000, and jail sentences range between 24 hours and two years.

Drivers under the age of 21 are not permitted to have any alcohol in their system when operating a motor vehicle, and violators face an immediate 30-day revocation of their driving privileges under this zero tolerance policy. Recent legislation has also addressed the issue of driving under the influence of drugs. Police can now require chemical testing for intoxicating substances other than alcohol, and refusal to submit to such a test could also lead to a driver's license revocation.

Those facing DWI charges in North Carolina often feel that the evidence against them is overwhelming. However, even seemingly compelling evidence is subject to dispute by a criminal defense attorney. The toxicology test results often relied upon by prosecutors to establish a driver's blood alcohol level may be unreliable in certain situations, and the behavior and statements of law enforcement officers may be deemed wholly or partly inadmissible if strictly defined constitutional boundaries have not been observed.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact Our Law Firm Today

You deserve to have a skilled legal advocate on your side who will protect your best interests. We will do just that. To schedule a consultation, please call our office in Charlotte at 704-323-7833 or 877-851-1934, or contact us online.

Plumides, Romano, Johnson & Cacheris, PC
301 South McDowell Street, Suite 130
Charlotte, NC 28204

Toll Free: 877-851-1934
Phone: 704-323-7833
Fax: 704-358-0536
Charlotte Law Office Map

Schedule A Consultation With An Experienced Attorney Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy