One of the most emotionally trying parts of any divorce is determining child custody. However, the most important thing to consider in any child custody case is the best interests of the children. In nearly every case, it is better for parents to find consensus on parenting time that protects both parents’ relationships with the children. The lawyers at PRJC Law understands that there are some times where this will not be possible. When necessary, we will be ready to fight in court to protect your children and your parental rights.
What determines the Basis of Child Support?
Child support issues can be stressful. North Carolina has set formulas for the determination of child support; however, other elements are open to interpretation and often require the attention of a skilled family attorney to be properly assessed. For example, factors such as health care expenses and day care costs need to be considered when determining the final child support amount. Our lawyers carefully consider your entire situation and work hard to ensure you receive what you deserve or do not pay more than you should. Guidelines in North Carolina apply to parties who have a combined income of less than $300,000 per year. Child support obligations awarded by the court must continue to be paid until the child is 18 years old or graduates from high school, whichever happens last. Child support payments are terminated if the child is emancipated. As part of the process, an attorney will assist with all types of child support issues, including:
- Modification of payments
- Enforcement of payments
- Establishment of paternity
- Show cause orders for failure to pay
- Calculating Payments
Need Help with Child Custody and Support?
Contact our office at 704-333-9900 or complete our Contact Form.
Use the Interactive North Carolina Child Support Calculator links below to determine your child support obligations according to the official NC Child Support Guidelines.
Deviations may be made from the guidelines, but are not covered by this calculator. NOTE: The NC Child Support Guidelines are applicable when the combined income of the parties is less than $30,000 per month.
The N.C. Child Support calculator will guide you through your particular situation. Click on the appropriate button to begin:
- North Carolina Child Support Worksheet A (Primary Custody)
- North Carolina Child Support Worksheet B (Joint/Shared Custody)
- North Carolina Child Support Worksheet C (Split Custody)
For more information: go to North Carolina Child Support Central.